Skip to main content

Test of Time Awards

On the occasion of ACSAC's 35th Anniversary, the Steering Committee instituted the inaugural Test of Time Awards. These awards provide an opportunity to honor papers that have been published at ACSAC that have had enduring significance and impact to the security community. The committee considered papers published during the first 20 years of the conference, from 1985-2004, looking at a corpus of over 630 papers, and discussed their impact on academia, industry, and government. Below are this year's awardees.

awards photo

A Cautionary Note on Image Downgrading, 1992
Charles Kurak and John McHugh

Detecting Kernel-Level Rootkits Through Binary Analysis, 2004
William Robertson, Christopher Kruegel, Giovanni Vigna

Privacy-Preserving Cooperative Statistical Analysis, 2001
Wenliang Du and Mikhail Attalah