Skip to main content

Test of Time Awards

On the occasion of ACSAC's 35th Anniversary, the Steering Committee instituted the inaugural Test of Time Awards. These awards provide an opportunity to honor papers that have been published at ACSAC that have had enduring significance and impact to the security community. The committee considered papers published during the first 20 years of the conference, from 1985-2004, looking at a corpus of over 630 papers, and discussed their impact on academia, industry, and government. Below are this year's awardees.

Detecting Anomalous and Unknown Intrusions Against Programs, 1998
Ghosh, Anup K.; Wanken, James; Charron, Frank

Throttling Viruses: Restricting propagation to defeat, 2002
Matthew Williamson, Hewlett-Packard Labs, UK

PolyUnpack: Automating the Hidden-Code Extraction of Unpack-Executing Malware, 2006
Paul Royal, Mitch Halpin, David Dagon, Robert Edmonds, Wenke Lee